My Problem with Sports (An ezb14 rant)….

Let me start by saying this: I’m a 49ers fan. Plain and simple.

9er Logo

After my obsession for wrestling’s WWF dwindled down (around 6th grade), I jumped straight into American football.

I basically just copied my older brother, and picked which team he was rolling with.

Plus, on top of that, I’m a loyal guy. #9erfaithful since the 2000’s.

It wasn’t until my college years when I read an article by Noam Chomsky that really enlighten me to my current stand on sports.

In Chomsky’s paper, he stated that major league sports provided very little to society besides entertainment. Sports are part of the consumerism found in American society.

At first I was like, “Holy shit. I never thought of it like that.”

And then I looked around. That paper was written in the 90’s but it still relevant to this day.

My problem with sports is the fact that people are so passionate about it when in reality they have very little to gain from it.

Let me rant:

You guys are mindless sheep.

You follow the crowd.

You don’t work for the team.

You don’t get any financial benefit from it.

You have nothing at stake besides you’re pride and support for your team.

When you go to sporting events you are bombarded with labels and ads.

You help support this American consumerism and help give money to a multi-billion dollar industry.

Now, I’m not saying YOU SHOULD STOP LIKING SPORTS because of me.

I just don’t like people who are ALL ABOUT SPORTS. You sound dumb.

Like really? That’s what you’re living for? To see who’s going to win the World Series?

If you like sports, and you’re aware that you get very little from it – that’s cool man. I can respect that.

I just want people to be aware of the fact that sports events are just ways to keep us entertain. That’s it.

In my opinion, there are bigger fish to fry. There are bigger problems we are facing in American society.

All that time and effort put in to supporting a sporting team, should be put into something more productive and educational. Something that will help benifit other people.

But that’s just my opinion.

I will say this though, going to watch your favorite sport team can be fun, and it’s nice to interact with people who support the team too.

And playing football or basketball can also be really fun and, probably, good for your health.

I get it. I’m not taking that away from it.

I just don’t like overly hyped fans who think ball is life.

Let me rant some more:

American football can be bad ass and exciting. A lot can happened within a game.

But baseball is just so boring.

And basketball is only good in the last 2 mintues.

Nobody takes soccer serious, and everything else just has a niche crowd that supports it (like NASCAR, tennis, etc).

Plus, you shouldn’t be faithful to a person who plays on the team – they can always be traded or request to move to a different team.

That’s why I’m just a Niner fan. That’s it. I don’t care about other teams. I couldn’t care less if they win!

(Although, it still kinda hurts when we lose to our rivals.)

Just be you. Be smarter. Be self-aware of what you’re supporting. Don’t ignore your problems. They will still be there after your team loses a championship.

In the end, sports are cool. But let’s be honest, we don’t need them.

Boom! Subject ether’d.

– ezb14 outz.

Leave a Reply

