Why I don’t Believe in Astorology, Horoscopes & other crap….

Imma about to ether this subject.

Okay, I’ve notice this trend on twitter: somebody RT’s (retweets) their horoscope or astrological sign characteristics to their followers to show that they too are similar to what the tweet is saying.

Fine. Whatever.

Little back story here: I’m 23 years young (see what i did there?) and now, more than ever, do I know myself and what I stand for. So out of curiosity, I took a look of my horoscope.

Born on Jan 11th, I am Capricorn. We are, according to this astrological sign, a hard-working, self-discipline, loyal person.

Furthermore, if I may quote from some random website (#TrueStory) the following:

The sign Capricorn is one of the most stable and (mostly) serious of the zodiacal types. These independent, rocklike characters have many sterling qualities. They are normally confident, strong willed and calm. These hardworking, unemotional, shrewd, practical, responsible, persevering, and cautious to the extreme persons, are capable of persisting for as long as is necessary to accomplish a goal they have set for themselves. Capricorn are reliable workers in almost any profession they undertake. They are the major finishers of most projects started by the ‘pioneering’ signs; with firm stick-to-it-ness they quickly become the backbone of any company they work for.

Now, while agree with this characteristics at first, let me just say this: This is utter BULLSHIT.

Fuck that. I don’t buy it. Who says I have to be a hard worker. Shit, on occasion, I’m the most laziest person I know – I will literaly call someone to hand me the remote across the room.

Now the worst of them all, are these love horoscopes/traits for my sign.

Another quote from a random website.

Capricorn Love Traits

  • Capricorns are very loyal and dedicated towards their partners. They are highly romantic and marry their true love.
  • People born under Capricorn take marriage seriously and do everything possible to keep the relation healthy.
  • They are slow to approach and are against making any flirts or fun when it comes to love.
  • They are highly caring for their partner and always think about the emotional aspect of the relationship.
  • They are very tolerant in their relationships and extremely possessive of their loved ones.
  • You can depend upon a Capricorn any day.
  • You will always find them standing by your side when you need support.
  • They are not the ones to shy away from commitment.

Haha. ^Now this is just silly.

True Story: I act the most flirtatious with other women when I KNOW another girl is jocking.

B/c in my mind, if I get turn down by some random, its all good – I still have one in the chamber (and I ain’t talking about Black Ops). Ha!

Here is my reason why people tend to believe in this kinda stuff –> Its b/c people want to feel connected, they want reasons, they want explanations, they want their mind at ease with their life, so they look upon silly little things that give them peace of mind.

Same thing goes with ‘Karma’. Oh, Karma is gonna get me? Oh, bullshit. Bad things happen to good people all the time. Its just life. Good things happen to bad people all the time too. Its the way you deal with situations that matter to me most.

Its this mentality that people have that they must shape their mentality with what other people say. Does that make sense? Its like people morph their way of thinking a certain direction due to the things or people around them.

The media, friends, social networking, all play apart of this mentality of finding common ground with normalcy.

I get it.

But I do not like it.

At the end of all this, I just want people to be themselves and be happy. And, I want people to understand and realize that although we have these universial feelings, we all have unique expriences with life.

Boom. Subject ether’d.

Leave a Reply

